Denim on Denim Edit: Part One – Business

menswear, shoes

I have been travelling the length and breadth of the UK for work over the past few weeks as part of a special project that I have been managing. Whilst I started out respectfully dressed, the novelty of crawling through dirty plant rooms in my best work gear whilst pretending the place was crawling with infrared alarm beams had worn thin. I decided to take it down a notch or three.

The closest I got to the beach

The closest I got to the beach

Unbeknownst to you guys I have been searching for a wardrobe staple denim jacket for around a year now. I toyed with an older style jacket but the fit, typically loose, was not right for me. I thought about getting it tailored but had to be sure about the wash. I wanted something light in colour and authentically faded. I scoured eBay for ages but nothing came up. It was only on a recent trip to Levis store in Canary Wharf that I stumbled on a dark, indigo rinse, slim fit jacket from their Commuter range. It was marked down to £80 from £120. The small offered the best fit but i decided I could hold off from an impulse buy. It paid off as I tried eBay when I got home and found the very same jacket for £40 BNWOT and BIN! Needless to say I snapped it up.

image

I paired it up with some tapered Iggy slim fit jeans from AllSaints, a white linen shirt and paisley pocket square from Reiss and a green knitted I and boutonnière from US outfit, The Knottery.

image

I love the contrast of the green with the blue of the denim. The silk really softens the denim too with shirt bringing the colours together nicely. The pocket square complimented the outfit well and the boutonnière added a hint of depth to it all. What do you think?

Excuse my expression! Lol

Excuse my expression! Lol

Leave a Reply

